Warning about egold-investments.biz from a reader
Posted by rabbit on June 23rd, 2006
"I'm a newbie in the world of HYIP and in fact wasn't really looking to involve myself in the scene. However I was checking out a google adsense ad for the followinghttp://www.egold-investments.biz.
In the course of doing my DD on this, I discovered HYIP. This site claims it
is not a HYIP (thats what brought the term to my attention) but I suspect
that is what it is.
After doing a whois search, I can already confirm at least one lie on the
site - the US address is non-existant, even the ZIP doesn't exist. I used
their contact form to ask why the address wasn't valid but haven't received
a response.
A second lie found on the page is their claim of longevity. According to
Whois, the site url was granted in May 2006 but I'm not sure whether that
refers to the originating date or a renewal."
Comments:
Never join a program you see being advertised in Google Adsense as they are almost guaranteed to be scams. If you check out the site you will also see that they accept "invesment" amounts as low as $1. Real investments do not accept $1 as an initial deposit.
June 27th, 2006 at 7:14 pm [ Quote ]
This site is even more malitious than this post suggests.
They require you to make a change to you regold settings to allow them to pay directly into your account and you must do this before investing.
Then when you make a deposit they send you to a spoofed egold payment page where you enter you egold account number and password and BANG! you entire egold accout balance is gone.
July 2nd, 2006 at 4:10 pm [ Quote ]
Yikes that is aweful. Thanks for the warning. I hope you did not lose too much. You should never have to change your egold settings to pay or get paid from any site. If a site asks you to change your e-gold settings, run far far away.
July 7th, 2006 at 1:13 am [ Quote ]
this is a site that stole $4,000 from me in may. I reported them to the fbi internet computer fraud complaint www.ic3.gov. The FBI & my local police said there is nothing they will do for me because my loss did not exceed $10,000.
All infomation on his website is fake. If you have lost money file a complaint with the FBI and/or the FTC anyway, maybe they will do something aboutt his theif if they get enough complaints.
July 9th, 2006 at 8:55 am [ Quote ]
Hey Irena,
Sorry to hear about your loss. Here is a tip: stay away from any program that has “gold” in the name. It usually means scam.